WOLFGANG GURLITT. FAIRY PRINCE Art Dealer – Collector | LENTOS – Kunstmuseum Linz, Linz

4 October 2019 to 19 January 2020

Opening Hours:
Tuesday to Sunday 10 am–6 pm
Thursday 10 am–9 pm
Closed on Mondays

LENTOS Kunstmuseum Linz
Ernst-Koref-Promenade 1
4020 Linz


The life and activities of the art dealer Wolfgang Gurlitt (1888–1965) are closely intertwined with the beginnings of the LENTOS Kunstmuseum: for the museum, the Gurlitt Collection is a legacy that is as brilliant as it is problematic. The exhibition casts light on the turbulent life of the passionate collector and controversial art dealer Wolfgang Gurlitt, who was involved in deals with looted art during the National Socialist era. Having been made honorary director of the Neue Galerie der Stadt Linz (today: LENTOS Kunstmuseum) in 1946, he put on more than a hundred exhibitions. In 1952/53 the City of Linz Stadt Linz acquired what was to become the core of the new museum’s collection – 84 paintings, 33 drawings and a Kubin collection – works Gurlitt had managed to protect from the ravages of war. Since 1999, Linz has restituted twelve works from the Gurlitt collection to the lawful heirs of their pre-War Jewish owners.

The exhibition provides insights into the history of these objects and the fate of their persecuted owners. Putting on display works that include paintings by Oskar Kokoschka, Alfred Kubin, Jeanne Mammen, Max Pechstein, Egon Schiele and Lovis Corinth, this comprehensive, painstakingly researched and multifaceted exhibition tells the story of Gurlitt’s international activities as an art dealer, networker and friend of a great number of artists. 

Curator: Elisabeth Nowak-Thaller

Margret Bilger, Lovis Corinth, Walt Disney, Lisl Engels, Paul Flora, Caspar David Friedrich, Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, Louis Gurlitt, Hugo von Habermann, Emmy Haesele, Eric Isenburger, Paul Klee, Gustav Klimt, Leo von König, Käthe Kollwitz, Oskar Kokoschka, Alfred Kubin, Lotte Laserstein, Max Liebermann, Hans Makart, Jeanne Mammen, Henry Moore, Otto Mueller, Edvard Munch, Max Pechstein, Anton Romako, Georges Rouault , Philipp Otto Runge, Egon Schiele, Moritz von Schwind, Franz Sedlacek, Clara Siewert, Carl Spitzweg, Otto Zitko.